How Are We Doing?

We need to hear what you have to say about us. If you had a wonderful experience and everything went perfectly, then we want to know about it. If there was something lacking in your experience, then we want to know about that too. We are always looking for ways to improve and for ways to better serve our customers. We know that with your feedback we can make Joel Confer Toyota the best dealership that it can be. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with any feedback that you can, and we hope to see you again at Joel Confer Toyota.

Customer Lobby
8 Reviews
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sort by: Latest review first / Highest rating first
Richard S. 09 Jan 2017
Mr. King, I appreciate your assistance with the purchase of my 2017 Toyota Tundra. Your attitude and professionalism made __________ and I feel very comfortable. The time and effort you took to explain the features and value of the truck was impressive. you answered all our questions and concerns,... which is something we did not find at most of the dealerships we visited. by having Brad Fritchman come in and provide answers to the extended warranty option helped with the decision to purchase that plan. Both you and Brad were very patient and knowledgeable. I look Forward to dealing with you in the years ahead, and will recommend you if I know of others who may be looking to purchase a vehicle. Show more
5 rate
Annie P., Calais, ME 30 Aug 2016
Service and detailing are always friendly and professional! Today, when I asked the Cashier for clarification on my bill, she was outright rude. Maybe I didn't phrase my questioning the right way... She sighed, picked up the phone, slammed it down, walked over to service, all seemingly pissed off. S...ervice came over and went over it with me. I thanked him and said everything looks fine. The cashier kind of said something general but no apology for making me feel like crap for asking about my $700 bill. Show more
4 rate
Yelp
Annie P., Calais, ME 30 Aug 2016
Service and detailing are always friendly and professional! Today, when I asked the Cashier for clarification on my bill, she was outright rude. Maybe I didn't phrase my questioning the right way... She sighed, picked up the phone, slammed it down, walked over to service, all seemingly pissed off. S...ervice came over and went over it with me. I thanked him and said everything looks fine. The cashier kind of said something general but no apology for making me feel like crap for asking about my $700 bill. Show more
4 rate
Yelp
Wes R., State College, PA 11 Jun 2015
I'm no stranger to Toyotas and it was time for a new one. Confer is right around the corner and since these days, you marry the dealer when you buy the car, I figured it was good to live close. My sales associate, Mr. King was easy to deal with.  He knew the cars, knew the features and made the tra...nsaction as painless one can given the size of the investment.  There was no pressure.  I'm pleased with the car, pleased with the way my wife and I were treated and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place should someone ask me.  I wish the service dept. would open on Saturdays. Show more
4 rate
Yelp
Wes R., State College, PA 11 Jun 2015
I'm no stranger to Toyotas and it was time for a new one. Confer is right around the corner and since these days, you marry the dealer when you buy the car, I figured it was good to live close. My sales associate, Mr. King was easy to deal with.  He knew the cars, knew the features and made the tra...nsaction as painless one can given the size of the investment.  There was no pressure.  I'm pleased with the car, pleased with the way my wife and I were treated and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place should someone ask me.  I wish the service dept. would open on Saturdays. Show more
4 rate
Yelp
Anonymous 14 Mar 2015
Amazing customer service! Chris S. and everyone were very helpful and went above and beyond to get us the car in the color and with the options we wanted. 2 weeks from date of purchase and Chris has followed up to make sure we are satisfied with our purchase. Could not have asked for a better exp...erience! Show more
5 rate
Matthew n Josephine 23 May 2014
It is rare for us to enjoy buying used cars from dealerships. Major exception was in May 2014 when we bought a used Toyota From Confer Toyota's Michael King. We actually had fun and are grateful that Mike was so pleasant to work with.
5 rate
Cars.com
Grant F., Fort Worth, TX 14 Feb 2014
I recently purchased a used minivan from these guys after shopping intensely at all the dealerships for quite some time.  Based on my experience with the various dealerships, the Joel Confer Toyota is a great place to buy a car in State College.

Of course, much of that impression is based on
... the one or two people one meets at each place.  The person I worked with at Joel Confer is named Devlon and he might be the best salesperson I have ever met anywhere.  I think he's like head of sales or something.  Anyway if he's the one who shows you around you will be happy whether you end up buying a car from him or not.

I may have come at a good time or something but this place is all about service and making you happy with your purchase and experience.  They were super professional and treated me like a king.  No waiting, no pressure, they always knew the answer to every question I could have.  Because I wasn't looking for a new car and  in fact I was looking for as cheap a minivan as I could get (those things are expensive!) a lot of dealerships made me feel a little bad.  I guess they were trying to upsell me or something.  Not so here.  When he found out I had kids and was having problems getting down there, he drove the car I was interested in to my house.  Yes, you read that right.  I was able to check it out in my own driveway and he took all the time I wanted to show me the ins and outs. He had the detailed carfax report on it and on some other cars I had been interested in with him and went through all the details with us.  He was nice to my wife.  It was just a good experience overall.

When it came down to negotiating a price he was super nice about it...all business.  Didn't try to make me feel bad about my lowball offer or anything.  I hate it when negotiating a price becomes a battle of wills where both people come out feeling bad about it...that actually happened at a different place in town.  Anyway, I was feeling very poor and he worked the price down very significantly for me.  A couple of times.  Based on their asking price I thought I wasn't going to end up with the car I did even after all the negotiations but he eventually came back with a price that's very good compared to blue book.  It wasn't the kind of price I would have gotten if I were his brother or something, but it was a good price.  So I took it.  And I've been happy I did ever since.

Buying the car at this place was painless.  He had it waiting out front.  I signed a few papers, they gave me my new registration, and I was good to go.  But wait, there were a bunch of features he might not have showed me how to use (how to install carseats, etc).  This is all after the sale, mind you.  Since it was getting late he suggested I come back in a few days at my convenience and he would show me some other features of the car.  Super interested in us having a good experience.

The Toyota dealership overall is kind of upscale feeling (all dealerships try to cultivate that feeling, but this one a little more so).  Large, brightly lit, etc.  It feels like they have higher-end, more expensive cars.  If I had the money I'd buy new cars there and have them do all my service as well.

For reference, a couple of other places in town of note:

* The Mazda place.  This was my other favorite place in town.  They were super nice and helpful without being pushy.  Seemed to have access to a lot of cars and were happy to bring cars from out of town.  Reasonable prices.  

* The Honda Place.  These guys had a very nice place, like the Toyota place.  What they didn't do was make me feel like I was rich enough to be there.  They acted like they never get cars as cheap and crappy as I was looking for so I should look to spend thousands and thousands more.  Kind of made me feel like I was out of place.   They weren't very busy but somehow they didn't have the time for me.  If you have a lot of money and are going for a new car, this might be a good option. Overall I wasn't that happy after visiting there.

* Sutliff Buick.  This place was pretty friendly and had a car I was interested in.  I didn't feel like they had the kind of competence as the Toyota place, though.  They didn't know what was in their inventory at first, then they didn't know much about the car.  They had a nice place for my kids to play in, though.  Prices seemed pretty reasonable.  I found a car I kind of liked and actually started negotiating for it.  Let's just say I didn't like the negotiations.  

* The stuff down on West College and Whitehall.  They all seem to be owned by the same company so in used cars they are all the same--you can buy the same car from any building you want.  They didn't have much I was interested in and their prices seemed very high for the cars they had.  Nice people, but in my experience there are better places to shop.
Show more
5 rate
Yelp

Leave Us a Review

Please check errors